/ / News

Customs Union audit bodies sign memorandum of cooperation

KYIV, 9 September (BelTA) – The supreme audit institutions of Belarus, Russia and Kazakhstan signed a memorandum of trilateral parallel control over the implementation of events related to the construction of the Customs Union, preparation and implementation of documents regulating cooperation between the Customs Union member states, BelTA has learnt.

The document has been signed during the 11th session of the Council of the Heads of Supreme Audit Institutions of the CIS member states which is taking place in Kyiv on 8-9 September.

Chairman of the State Control Committee Alexander Yakobson who is heading the Belarusian delegation at the Council stressed that a lot has been so far done in what concerns the financial issues in the Customs Union construction. The results of the work as well as the goals set forth before the chief financial controllers of Belarus, Russia and Kazakhstan have been laid down in the memorandum signed by the heads of the aforesaid institutions.

Besides, on 8 September Kyiv hosted a signing of the agreement on cooperation between the State Control Committee of Belarus and the Audit Office of the Republic of Kyrgyzstan. The document envisages the exchange of experience in state audit and financial control, cooperation in vocational training and enhancement of qualification of the personnel, conduction of joint research, seminars, conferences and working meetings.

Alexander Yakobson cited as an example of mutually beneficial cooperation the experience gained from the Accounts Chamber of the Russian Federation on setting up a departmental press organ. It took only several months for the State Control Committee to start releasing an official magazine from H2 2011. The first issue of the magazine “State Control: Analysis, Practice, Comments” was presented to the session participants on 8 September.

Attending the session of the CIS Council of the Heads of Supreme Audit Institutions are delegations from Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Ukraine, Tajikistan, and Latvia as an observer.

On the first day of the session the participants discussed the results of their work between the sessions as well as the role they play in monitoring the use of public funds allocated to prevent and mitigate the consequences of the natural and technogenic catastrophes.

“Belarus’ experience in monitoring budget spending including funds allocated to mitigate the Chernobyl consequences, their target and efficient use is invaluable for the world community,” Alexander Yakobson noted. He added that Belarus is ready to share its experience with other countries.