/ / News

Belarus' Council of the Republic elects six CEC members

MINSK (BelTA) – The Council of the Republic elected six members to Belarus' Central Election Commission (CEC) on 21 December, BelTA has learned.

Andrei Gurzhy, Olga Doroshenko, Svetlana Katsubo, Alexander Losyakin, Igor Plyshevsky, and Irina Tselikovets were elected by a secret vote.

Lidia Yermoshina was appointed CEC Chairperson on 20 December. Yelena Dmukhailo, Vadim Ipatov, Sergei Kalinovsky, Marina Rakhmanova, and Oleg Slizhevsky were appointed CEC members.

Lidia Yermoshina told reporters that the idea to include only lawyers in the CEC was implemented for the first time. The idea was supported by local authorities in the regions and Minsk. “This will improve the image of the CEC in the eyes of the Belarusian society and abroad,” the CEC Chairperson said.

She added that the CEC members are well-respected lawyers, active and conscious citizens. “All this will be welcomed by our partners and the electorate,” Lidia Yermoshina stressed.